"48th International Art Show "

Opening reception and award ceremony: September 22, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.  (Free entrance and open to the public for the opening reception)

Exhibition dates: Sep 22 – Nov 10, 2023

We are pleased to present the Brownsville Museum of Fine Art’s 48th International Art Show. The first International was organized in 1973 by the Brownsville Art League. 

The 48th IAS is comprised of 57 pieces of artwork selected among more than 300 entries by curator, writer, and Juror Christina Rees.

Selection and Awards Juror for 2023, Christina Rees.

Christina Rees is a full-time writer in the corporate sector, covering art and the art market, design, entertainment, and more. From 2014 to 2021 she was the Editor of Glasstire, which covers visual art across Texas. In the past, she served as an editor at D Magazine, as a full-time critic and columnist at the Dallas Observer, and contributed art, film, and music criticism to the Village Voice and other national and international publications. She was the owner and director of Road Agent Gallery in Dallas and was the curator of Fort Worth Contemporary Arts and the Moudy Gallery at Texas Christian University. She’s an inaugural recipient of the Rabkin Prize, a national award for arts writing.

Participating Artists:

  • Forrest Aderholt; Austin, TX
  • Brandin Barón;San Francisco,CA
  • David Blow; Hickory Creek, TX
  • Raymond Bonavida;Los Angeles, CA
  • Vian Borchert; Germantown, MD
  • Kathy Bussert-Webb; Olmito, TX
  • Marianne Campbell; Farmville, VA
  • John Chinn; Lubbock, TX
  • Jennifer Clarke; Green Valley, AZ 
  • Carla Crawford; Petaluma, CA
  • Karla Cruz; Santa Rosa, TX 
  • Jesus De La Rosa; Kingsville, TX
  • Allan Gindic; Laredo, TX
  • Pauline Goldsmith; Miami, FL
  • Jeanette Hammerstein; Bloomington, IN
  • Denise Hawkins; Cheyenne, WY
  • Odilia Iaccarino; Plano, TX
  • Alyson J Barton; Roaring Branch, PA 
  • Ruth A. Keitz; Los Fresnos, TX
  • Madeline Kozlowski; Bainbridge Island, WA
  • Jonathan Langfield; Somerset, MA
  • Nathalie Lawrence; Lubbock, TX
  • J. (Jie) Li; Brooklyn, NY
  • Ana Lopez; Fort Worth, TX 
  • Jose Lozano; Brownsville, TX
  • David Mason; Truckee, CA 
  • Patrick McElroy; Arlington, TX
  • Matthew McHugh; Greeley, CO 
  • Kris Rehring; Tucson, AZ
  • Simone Schiffmacher; San Antonio, TX
  • Autumn Nicole Smith; San Diego, CA
  • David Smith; Seattle, WA
  • Jack Straton; Portland, OR
  • Rabbia Sukkarieh; San Pedro, CA
  • Hannah U; Mays Landing, NJ
  • Lee Vang
  • Juan Velez; Brownsville, TX